Sweden gets a new government

7:02 min

Former EU commissioner Margot Wallström becomes Sweden's new Minister of Foreign Affairs, as Stefan Löfven, who takes over as Prime Minister today, presented his government on Friday morning. The main surprise was that the former TV-presenter Alice Bah Kuhnke becomes Culture Minister.

Newly elected prime minister Stefan Löfven gave his keynote speech to Parliament this morning, outlining the statement of government policy, and he presented his new government: twelve women and twelve men will make up the new cabinet.

The smaller coalition partner, the Green Party, will hold posts in the ministries of education, environment, foreign aid and financial markets. The Social Democrats take over the ministries of finance, foreign affairs, defence, justrice and energy, among others. The party will also have more junior posts in the Ministry of Education.

New ministers from outside politics are the former TV-presenter Alice Bah Kuhnke as Culture Minister and trade union representative Annika Strandhäll as Social Insurance Minister, and Åsa Regnér (from the organisation of sexual health) who becomes minister for the elderly, children and gender equality. Alice Bah Kuhnke became a member of the Green party only a few days ago.

Out of the ministers, the proportion of those born abroad is on par with the population as a whole. According to political scientist Anders Sundell at Gothenburg Univeristy 15,9 percent of the population are born abroad, while the proportion among the new ministers is 16,7 percent.

This is the first time since the 1950s that the Social Democrats will be governing together with another party. In this year's election, the Social Democrats got 31 percent of the votes, while the Green Party got just under 7 percent of the votes.

Full list of ministers and where they come from (S means Social Democrat, G means Green party):

Stefan Löfven (S) - Prime Minister

Åsa Romson (G) - climate and environment, deputy PM

Margot Wallström (S) - foreign affairs

Morgan Johansson (S) - justice and migration

Anders Ygeman (S) - home affairs

Isabella Lövin (G) - foreign aid and development

Peter Hultqvist (S) - defence

Annika Strandhäll (S) - social insurance

Gabriel Wikström (S) - health

Åsa Regnér (S) - children, elderly and gender equality

Kristina Persson (S) - strategy, future and Nordic co-operation

Magdalena Andersson (S) - finance

Per Bolund (G) - financial markets and consumers

Ardalan Shekarabi (S) - civil affairs

Gustav Fridolin (G) - education

Aida Hadzialic (S) - education (junior minister)

Helene Hellmark Knutsson (S) - higher education

Ibrahim Baylan (S) - energy

Mikael Damberg (S) - trade and innovation

Mehmet Kaplan (G) - housing and town planning

Anna Johansson (S) - infrastructure

Sven-Erik Bucht (S) - countryside

Alice Bah Kuhnke (G) - culture and democracy

Ylva Johansson (S) - employment