Swedes with dual citizenship exempt from US travel ban

0:17 min

Swedes with dual citizenship from any of the seven Muslim-majority countries that are under a travel ban ordered by US president Donald Trump can still travel to the United States, Swedish Radio reports.

The executive order was issued Friday, but initially it was unclear if Swedish citizens who also hold passports from Iraq, Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria or Yemen would be able to enter the US.

The American embassy in Stockholm posted a notice Monday on its website saying that nationals from those seven countries should not schedule a visa appointment and should not bother showing up for an appointment if they had already booked one.

On Tuesday, however, US officials clarified the order. Acting Commissioner of US Customs and Border Protection Kevin McAleenan said dual citizenship would not be taken into consideration when trying to enter the US.

"Travelers will be assessed at our border based on the passport they present, not any dual national status," McAleenan said during a press conference in Washington D.C.

The Swedish government has criticized President Trump's temporary restrictions, which suspend entry of all refugees for 120 days, and Syrian refugees indefinitely. It also blocks citizens of the seven Muslim-majority countries for 90 days from coming to America. Trump has defended his executive order, saying that it is not a ban on Muslims but rather about "terror and keeping our country safe".