Nobel assembly chair: Medicine prize winners have solved a long-standing mystery

2:56 min
  • This year’s winners of the medicine prize are physiologist David Julius and molecular biologist Ardem Patapoutian, who have discovered receptors in the body for temperature and touch. 
  • Nils Göran Larsson, chairman of the Nobel assembly at Karolinska Institute says the duo have solved a long standing mystery: "They have discovered something that people have been asking for thousands of years".
  • Meanwhile, laureate David Julius tells Swedish Radio's Science desk: "I'm still taking it in."