Ada Yonath, Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Thomas Steitz will share the prize.
Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize for Chemistry

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry will be awarded to UK's Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, USA's Thomas A. Steitz and Israel's Ada E. Yonath "for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome," the Nobel Foundation has announced.

Ribosomes produce proteins, which transform the information in DNA into living organisms.

With the help of x-ray scattering techniques, the trio have mapped ribosomes at the atomic level, adding to science's knowledge of life. In addition, their research has been very important in developing new antibiotics.

Last year's prize was shared between Martin Chalfie, Osamu Shimomura and Roger Y Tsien for the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein GFP which is now common place in the medical world to watch processes in the body such as the development of cancer cells.

Our journalism is based on credibility and impartiality. Swedish Radio is independent and not affiliated to any political, religious, financial, public or private interests.
Du hittar dina sparade avsnitt i menyn under "Min lista".