Quarks - universe's smallest particles

Physics Nobel Prize for pioneer work in quark research

The Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa from Japan and to Japanese-born Yoichiro Nambu from the United States.

The two Japanese scientists won the Prize for their research work on quarks, the smallest located particles of matter.

American Nambu was credited for the discovery of the mechanism of so-called spontaneous broken symmetry.

Meanwhile, in an unusual move, the Chinese leadership issued a statement on the forthcoming announcement of this year’s winner of the Peace Nobel Prize.

A spokesman for the Chinese foreign ministry said in Beijing, China hoped that the prize would be awarded to the right person.

The remark is seen as a reaction to speculations that the Prize Committee in Oslo might give the award to a Chinese dissident on Friday.

Our journalism is based on credibility and impartiality. Swedish Radio is independent and not affiliated to any political, religious, financial, public or private interests.
Du hittar dina sparade ljud i menyn under Min lista