Gunnar von Heijne, Gunnar Öquist och Måns Ehrenberg Present This Year's Chemistry Winners

3 US-Based Scientists Share Nobel Chemistry Prize

This year’s Nobel Prize for Chemistry has been jointly awarded to Japan’s Professor Osamu Shimomura from the Marine Biological Laboratory (MBL),  Professor Martin Chalfie from Columbia University, New York, and Professor Roger Y. Tsien from the University of California, San Diego, all in the USA.

They won the prestigious prize for ”the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP”.

A rather tired Professor Tsien spoke to the world’s press just after the announcement, he’d been woken by the prize committee to be told he had won.

In Stockholm, Professor Sven Ledin from the Nobel Committee for Chemistry told Radio Sweden’s Dave Russell why the GFP discovery has been so important. 

Our journalism is based on credibility and impartiality. Swedish Radio is independent and not affiliated to any political, religious, financial, public or private interests.
Du hittar dina sparade ljud i menyn under Min lista