Ada Yonath, Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Thomas Steitz will share the prize.
Nobel Prize

Nobel Prize for Chemistry

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry will be awarded to UK's Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, USA's Thomas A. Steitz and Israel's Ada E. Yonath "for studies of the structure and function of the ribosome," the Nobel Foundation has announced.

Ribosomes produce proteins, which transform the information in DNA into living organisms. With the help of x-ray scattering techniques, the trio have mapped ribosomes at the atomic level, adding to science's knowledge of life. In addition, their research has been very important in developing new antibiotics.

Professor Lars Thelander, member of the prize awarding committee told Radio Sweden that the scientists work was a vital discovery in understanding DNA  

Our journalism is based on credibility and impartiality. Swedish Radio is independent and not affiliated to any political, religious, financial, public or private interests.
Du hittar dina sparade avsnitt i menyn under "Min lista".