The Nobel Peace Prize will be announced by the Nobel Committee in Oslo, Norway

Nobel Peace Prize Awarded Today

Today, at 11.00 Swedish time, the winner of the Alfred Nobel Peace Prize of 2009 will be announced from the Nobel committee in Oslo. According to the Norwegian public service TV NRK it is likely to be an individual, rather than an organisation that will receive the prize this year.

There are speculations that Zimbabwe's Prime Minister Morgan Tsvangerai has a good chance to win the prestigious Prize this year. Other names mentioned are Ingrid Betancourt and Piedad Córdoba, who are working for peace between the Farc-guerilla and the government in Colombia. Also the Chinese dissident Hu Jia has been suggested as well as the Sima Samar, the UN envoy to Darfur, and the Jordanian Prince Ghazi Bin Muhammad who is active to bridge religious divides.

Last year, it was the Finnish Diplomat and former President Martti Ahtisaari who was awarded the Prize "for his important efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts".

Our journalism is based on credibility and impartiality. Swedish Radio is independent and not affiliated to any political, religious, financial, public or private interests.
Du hittar dina sparade avsnitt i menyn under "Min lista".