Persson Signs EU Constitution

Leaders of the 25 member states of the EU have been signing the organisation’s new constitution at a ceremony in the Italian capital Rome.

Prime Minister Göran Persson and Foreign Minister Laila Freivalds signed the document for Sweden. The new constitution will go into effect once it is ratified by the 25 parliaments across Europe. Here in Sweden Prime Minister Persson is rejecting calls for a referendum, and parliament alone will vote on the constitution.

Our journalism is based on credibility and impartiality. Swedish Radio is independent and not affiliated to any political, religious, financial, public or private interests.
Du hittar dina sparade avsnitt i menyn under "Min lista".