Norway's Eurovision entrant this year, Margaret Berger. Photo: Alf Vidar Snæland/NTB scanpix/SCANPIX
Radio Sweden's Eurovision Blog

It's all coming back like a Déja Vu!

Just like the Swedish Melodifestival, this year's Eurovision Song Contest will have its share of comebacks. Singers, and above all, songwriters, who just can't get enough of the contest. And who can blame them. Getting the chance to sing your song to millions of tv viewers, and possibly winning, is something many stars and wannabes hope will kick their pop careers up to the next level, and for many Eurovision stars, the chance of entering the Eurovision bubble again is an opportunity not to be missed.

Where else do you get treated like a superstar for a week or so, get to sing on one of the most expensive and professional entertainment tv shows, and get a free holiday out of it as well?

This year is no exception. For the artists there are a couple of comebacks on the cards.

Valentina Monetta represented San Marino last year with the hideous "Social Network Song", but she was the closest the tiny republic has ever made it to qualifying for the final. Unsusprising then that she's been given another go at getting San Marino to qualify for the final for the first time ever.

Elitsa and Stoyan did very well when they represented Bulgaria in Helsinki six years ago, so well that  Bulgarian TV got a touch of nostalgia and decided to let them sing all three songs in the Bulgarian final this year, meaning they were guaranteed a place in Eurovision with one of their drum-banging ethno stompers.

We also get our first former Junior Eurovision Song Contest entrant on the adult stage for the first time, one of the Serbien trio Moje 3 is Nevena Bozovic, who came third in the JESC in 2007.

There may not be many performers returning in 2013, but the same cannot be said of the number of songwriters also trying their luck again in Malmö. 

There are millions of them.

The most famous of them is of course German Ralph Siegel, who has written the San Marinese entry for the second year in a row. Ralph last wrote a German entry back in 2003, "Let's get happy" by Lou, which ended up 11th. Since then he has written for Switzerland, San Marino and Montenegro, but none of the songs has set the scoreboard alight. He won the contest in 1982, Nicole's "Ein Bisschen Frieden" is a contest evergreen.

Another songwriter that has started selling his songs around Europe to try to get back into Eurovision is Belgian Marc Paelinck. He wrote the Belgian Eurosongs in 2002 and 2004, both of which flopped terribly. He also wrote the Maltese song in 2009, Chiara's "What if we", which came 22nd. This year he has written the Belarusian entry, and will no doubt be hoping for a better result than his previous best of 13th.

Karen Kavaleryan is a much used lyricist all over the former Soviet Union, and has written Eurovision entries for Armenia, Russia, Belarus, Georgia and Ukraine. Among his entries are the fantastic "Shady Lady" from 2008, and the less amazing "Peace will come" from the same year. He also wrote the lyrics to Dima Bilan's Eurovision debut, "Never let you go" from 2006. This year he  has written the lyrics to the Ukrainian entry, "Gravity". The music to that song is penned by Mikhail Nekrasov, who also wrote a song in 2006, Ukraine's "Show me your love".

Dane Lise Cabble co-wrote their entries in 1995 and 2011, and the Belgian song is written by the man behind the Cypriot entry in Düsseldorf, and also Brit Iain Farquharson, who helped Swedes Stefan Öhrn and Sandra Bjurman write Azerbaijan's winner that year, "Running Scared".

The Serbian song is written by the man who wrote their winner "Molitva", and the woman that wrote the lyrics to their songs in Oslo and Baku, "Ovo je Balkan" and "Nije ljubav stvar".

Örlygur Smári made his Eurovision debut in Stockholm 13 years ago, writing the Icelandic entry "Tell me!", he has since returned to the contest twice, he wrote "This is my life" in 2008, and "Je ne sais quoi" in 2010. He wrote this year's Icelandic song together with Pétur Örn Gudmundsson, who has been a backing singer for Iceland half a dozen times.

The lyricist behind Cyprus' song also wrote the lyrics to their 1998 entry, "Genesis", while the songwriter behind the Macedonian song wrote their entry in 2006, "Ninanajna", and the Armenian lyricist also wrote "Jan Jan" in 2009.

There are a few Swedish songwriters writing for other countries this year, the Russian, Dutch, Norwegian and Azeri songs all have Swedish songwriters involved somewhere along the line. Perhaps the most prolific Swedish songwriter in recent times, Thomas G:son is writing for Georgia this year. He has previously written entries for Sweden, Spain, Norway and Denmark, and he was also one of the men behind "Euphoria" last year.

Another songwriter returning after Baku is Moldovan Pasha Parfeny. Last year he sang his own song, this year he will accompany Aliona Moon on the piano.

Roberto Casalino almost wrote last year's Italian entry, until his song "Per Sempre" was replaced by another song. He gets another chance this year, as Italian TV decided to stick with the San Remo winner "L'essenziale".

Finally, the French song is partly written by a Eurovision veteran, making his comeback in the contest after a couple of decades away. Boris Bergman write the Monegasque songs in 1973 and 1975.

Our journalism is based on credibility and impartiality. Swedish Radio is independent and not affiliated to any political, religious, financial, public or private interests.
Du hittar dina sparade avsnitt i menyn under "Min lista".