Eight Swedes on Russia's blacklist

Russia has blacklisted eight Swedes, meaning they are no longer welcome to visit the country, reports news agency TT.

The list includes about 80 EU citizens, in total.

Sweden's foreign ministry does not want to reveal who the blacklisted Swedes are and offered no details concerning how it came to know about the list.

"It is very remarkable behavior, which unfortunately does not improve the picture of Russia, and we have asked for an explanation for this action," Foreign Minister Margot Wallström wrote to TT.

According to Mark Rutte, the Prime Minister of the Netherlands, the list of who was no longer welcome in Russia was delivered yesterday to different EU ambassadors. At a press conference, Rutte said that two MPs from the Netherlands were on the list, as well as two MEPs.

Our journalism is based on credibility and impartiality. Swedish Radio is independent and not affiliated to any political, religious, financial, public or private interests.
Du hittar dina sparade avsnitt i menyn under "Min lista".