The meeting room of the Swedish Academy.
1 av 3
The meeting room of the Swedish Academy. Credit: Lars Pehrson/SvD/TT
The Swedish Academy's interim head Anders Olsson.
2 av 3
The Swedish Academy's interim head Anders Olsson. Credit: Erik Simander/TT
Former Permanent Secretary Sara Danius walking.
3 av 3
Former Permanent Secretary Sara Danius after she resigned. Credit: Tomas Oneborg/SvD/TT

Swedish Academy may not award Nobel literature prize this year

1:45 min

The Swedish Academy may not name a laureate for this year's Nobel Prize in Literature, sources tell Swedish Radio's culture department.

After weeks of internal turmoil that saw its permanent secretary and four other members step down from their duties, the Academy might not award the prestigious prize in 2018.

A source within the Academy tells Swedish Radio's culture desk that time may be needed to regain some trust following the scandals within the group that led to five members, including the former Permanent Secretary Sara Danius, to step down from their duties.

Although the five have resigned recently, they remain on the board since appointments to the Academy are for life. The Swedish King though has said he would change the rules for the 18-member board to allow people to fully leave the Academy.

When asked for a comment on Wednesday the current interim head Anders Olsson told Swedish Radio that, "We'll get back to you on that question. We're working on it right now."

The fallout stems from an investigation into sexual misconduct allegations at the Academy by a man who is married to a member. The Academy stated that the abuse was "not generally known" to it and expressed regret over the events.

Many - including journalists, writers and others within the arts - believe the scandal has tarnished the group and the Nobel prize's reputation.

The public also has shown support for Danius, who many believe was forced to take the fall for the sexual abuse carried out by the man. Last week, thousands gathered outside the Swedish Academy's offices in Stockholm, calling for all of its remaining members to resign.

The Nobel Prize in Literature has been awarded 110 times to 114 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2017. No prize was handed out in 1914, 1918, 1935 and from 1940 to 1943.

Our journalism is based on credibility and impartiality. Swedish Radio is independent and not affiliated to any political, religious, financial, public or private interests.
Du hittar dina sparade avsnitt i menyn under "Min lista".