First woman awarded a Nobel physics prize since 1963

2:54 min

A trio of researchers, including Canada's Donna Strickland, will share this year's Nobel Prize in Physics. Strickland became the first woman since 1963 and only the third female in history to win such an award.

Arthur Ashkin of the United States won one half of the prize, while Gerard Mourou of France and Strickland shared the other half.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced the laureates in Stockholm on Tuesday.

The three researchers are being honored for inventions in the field of laser physics which have paved the way for advanced precision instruments used in industry and medicine, the academy said.

Our journalism is based on credibility and impartiality. Swedish Radio is independent and not affiliated to any political, religious, financial, public or private interests.
Du hittar dina sparade ljud i menyn under Min lista