Work on lithium batteries earns Nobel Prize in chemistry

0:50 min

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was given to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for developing lithium batteries.

The batteries are chargeable and are used in everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric cars.

The Nobel Prize in chemistry has during the years been awarded to 181 people, five of those were women. The youngest recipient was 35. John B Goodenough becomes the eldest person to receive the prize. He is 97.