"Sports Oscars" to Rickardsson and Pärson

Monday night saw the awarding of Sweden’s so-called Oscars of Sports, at the Sports Academy’s annual Sport Gala.

Six times World Speedway champion Tony Rickardsson was named Sportsman of the year and was delighted at finally winning the award after several near misses. He also picked up the Jerring prize, which includes votes from TV viewers.

It was a good night too for Alpine skiing star Anja Pärsson, who beat off some strong competition from the likes of golfing great Annika Sorenstam to be named Sportswoman of the year, in recognition of a year in which she picked up two world championship golds and snatched the overall world cup by the finest of margins.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Jerring Prize: Tony Rickardsson
Sportsman of the Year: Tony Rickardsson
Sportswoman of the Year: Anja Pärson
Team of the Year: Men’s soccer team
Newcomer of the Year: Emma Green
Disabled Athlete of the Year: Alexandra Polivanchuk
Leader of the Year: Yannick Tregaro
Achievement of the Year: Kajsa Bergqvist
Sports Mirror Prize: Åsa Sandell

Our journalism is based on credibility and impartiality. Swedish Radio is independent and not affiliated to any political, religious, financial, public or private interests.
Du hittar dina sparade avsnitt i menyn under "Min lista".